Lian Tanner

Lian Tanner
  • Childrens Author
  • Playright
    Featuring in

Lian is a children’s author and playwright. Her best-selling fantasy trilogy, The Keepers is published by Allen & Unwin. The first book in the trilogy, Museum of Thieves, won the Aurealis Award for Children’s Fiction, and was shortlisted for the Independent Booksellers’ Award, the Australian Book Industry Award, the South Australian Premier’s Award and the Speech Pathology Book of the Year Award. It was one of’s Best Children’s Books for 2010. City of Lies (The Keepers 2) also won the Aurealis Awards, and the third book, Path of Beasts, was published in October 2012. Lian’s books are currently published in the USA, Australia and India, and are translated into German, Chinese characters, Brazilian Portuguese, Bahasa Indonesian, Thai, Bulgarian, Turkish, Spanish and Polish.

Lian’s latest novel, Ice Breaker (Book 1 in the Hidden series) was published in Australia/NZ in October 2013. It was shortlisted for the Aurealis Award, and was a Children’s Book Council of Australia Notable Book. Lian has worked as a teacher in Australia and Papua New Guinea, a tourist bus driver, a freelance journalist, a juggler, a community arts worker, an editor and a professional actor. It took her a while to realise all these jobs were really just preparation for being a writer.